Saturday, Feb. 01, 2003 12:59 p.m.

My lungs hurt. They feel like they�re throbbing. Well, in essence, they are whenever I take a breath in. Anyway, they hurt and my throat is mucho sore. I wish that they�d take the big leap and eliminate smoking from bars.

I realize that this is never going to happen, but one can hope.

Last night went on without incident, at least to me. I went over to AC, the Coworker�s, place to have dinner. Her brother was there to join us. So we had enchiladas, which were really good. There was one little hitch though�.AC was saying when it came out of the oven, �I hope the meat is cooked and all done��

Her brother responded with, �You mean you didn�t brown the meat?�

�I was supposed to?�

It turned out that despite that mistake, the meat was cooked and it tasted really good. I was so stuffed afterward that I wasn�t sure that I�d be able to move. After awhile, AC started to get ready for the bar, then we went to my place for me to get ready. Finally, we drove to Rick�s and saw that the line was already going out the door, and it was only 9:45. We got in line and waited, waited, waited. It didn�t seem like it, but we were in the line for 45 minutes. The only thing that I noticed was the cold and my throat already starting to hurt. The smokers waiting in line didn�t help matters much, it almost seemed like they were blowing smoke directly into my face.

One of the reasons that I don�t particularly like Rick�s is that there is always a line, but there also happens to be a VIP line, which only succeeds in pissing me off. I don�t care if you know a bouncer or a bartender, get your ass in the normal line like the rest of us. A bartender or bouncer is not exactly an occupation that ranks up there in prestige, at least not in East Lansing. Maybe in New York City, but definitely not here. After seeing a group of about 10 come in from the street and get directly into the bar, we had to wait for another fifteen minutes before we could get in. Finally we got in, only to be greeted by a $4 cover charge.

After all the hassles, we saw JG and sat down after getting a couple of drinks. We talked for awhile and it seemed like he was having a good time. I took a few pictures. We made fun of the 30+ cover band. We made fun of a girl with really long, stringy hair. It was a pretty good time.

I�ve noticed that I don�t have to be drunk anymore to have a decent time at the bar. It probably wouldn�t have been a good idea for me because I�m still sick. I�m pretty sure that the smoke in the bar put me back another day or two, at least, in recovery. In fact, I even started coughing, which was a symptom I hadn�t exhibited before.

After a particularly bad coughing fit in the bathroom, I told AC that we should probably get going. My lungs felt like they were on fire. I let JG know that we�d be heading out. I really hope that he wasn�t too mad about it, but I was sure that if I�d stayed there, I wouldn�t be healthy by next week. I need to be healthy next week. My interviews are next week.

We left and started walking toward my car and AC was imitating my coughing. As we were walking by, this guy said to her �Go to bed.�

�Fuck you,� she responded.

�Fuck yourself, you whore.�

Unfortunately, I have a tendency to ignore people like that. It really seemed to get to her because all she could repeat was, �I�m a whore?� over and over. If I�d been paying attention, I probably would have thought of something to say back, but alas I didn�t. We walked into the parking area�s entrance.

Now, each of these parking areas has a driveway for cars so that they can pull up, grab a ticket, and the bar will go up. We were walking in just as a car had pulled up. I looked up and said, �Uh, that pole�s gonna come down,� to warn AC that the parking pole might come down right on her. She was busy murmuring to herself about the whore guy and I just saw it coming.

Before I could warn her again, I saw the end of the pole come down RIGHT in front of her, so that she crashed into it.

I don�t think I�d ever seen anything so funny in months. I was laughing so hard while we were driving that I swear I almost crashed the car.

Like I said, the night was incident free for me at least.

I swear I had the best dream ever. Gotta love NyQuil.

I dreamt that Ben Affleck invited me to some party. It was some kind of summer beach party, so I wore shorts and a tank top. Surprisingly enough, though, some people were wearing evening wear, and others were not. Whatever the issue was, I looked good in my knit shorts, heh. Anyway, it was almost like a movie premier on the beach because I also remember there being a hall full of movie seats and people yelling at us for walking around. I think I also asked him about J-Lo, to which he responded, �Jennifer? Psh�she�s such a bitch!�

I guess we ended up sharing a hotel room for quite awhile, as he was cast in the newest Batman movie [I honestly don�t even want to picture another Batman movie, let alone one with Ben Affleck]. I tried out for some part, but didn�t make it, but this other girl did. So, instead, I got to lounge around this resort hotel on Ben�s dime and got to read the newest Batman script. Anyway, it was a pretty good dream. I even saw pictures of myself in tabloids.

It was pretty amusing overall. Nothing like NyQuil to make sure you have screwy, but fun dreams.

Got a comment about this entry?
people have come to see the show!
FastCounter by bCentral