Wednesday, Apr. 10, 2002 11:05 p.m.

This has easily been the worst day I�ve had all year.

Since this day has technically started at midnight, it does include last night.

It started at 3 am while I was arguing with P, the Conqueror. After arguing with him for a couple hours, I managed to get a couple hours of sleep before running off to work on my presentation with my lab partners. However, the practice for the presentation did not help when the actual moment came up.

In my second class, I had a quiz that I knew was coming up, but just didn�t know how to prepare for. After staring at it for awhile, and looking at the girl next to me while she shrugged and wrote down stuff, I started to draw what I thought was a relevant looking picture and wrote down a couple sentences that I hope related. I just shrugged and turned in the quiz, hoping that I�d get at least a couple points.

Then, the presentation came to a head. L was doing beautifully when she turned it over to me.

�The probe is made of�.uh�..um�.whatsitcalled�um�.uh�.�

�A good conductor?� the TA suggested.

I nodded shamefully and managed to forget another couple important words before my time was up. T followed me and proceeded to butcher the slides that I�d made for him as well as the ones that L made. He didn�t even read off the result of a two or three line equation.

Great.

I got into my car and drove back, leaving it at a meter. I knew that I�d be venturing to Marshall Field�s later to pay my bill plus I wanted to pick up a couple DVD�s. I came back and called the doctor�s office to return the phone call that he had made about a week ago.

They put me on hold.

For a long time.

Then the receptionist came back on the line to tell me that he�d call back.

�What�s your phone number?�

�Oh, you mean the 586 area code?

No, that�s not what I said. I said 810. I�m aware that there was an area code change, however, my cell phone wasn�t part of that change. I�m not stupid. I know what I�m talking about.

Almost three hours rolls around and no phone call back. During this time, I learn that my partner in my other presentation decided out of nowhere to not participate. I screamed in frustration and called again and the doctor finally got on the phone with me.

Let me remind you that I�m talking to Dr. Icky.

I�m not going into the details here, but unfortunately, I have to make a return trip and it could possibly be worse than every other visit to him.

After I�d talked a bit with a girl down the hall, I decided it was time to head to Marshall Field�s. She said she�d come with me, so we hopped in my ticket-free car (the only good thing to happen today) and drove to the mall. While writing my check, I noticed that the check to be used was check 666. My eyes widened and I decided to avoid that check considering the day I'd already had. So I took the next check and paid the bill. We played around with a couple perfumes and we went back to the car to go to Best Buy to pick up my DVD�s.

When we got into Best Buy, this woman comes running up to us.

�Excuse me, I just wanted to let you know that you have a really flat tire.�

Oh please God, don�t be talking about me�please please please.

I went to get my DVD�s and saw that Serendipity had come out. So instead of picking up K-pax and A.I., I picked up A.I. and Serendipity. After paying for them, we ventured outside to look at the car. Even from the side of it, I could see that it was lopsided.

�Oh great.�

The rim was touching the ground.

Now, I�ve had a flat tire before; the same tire, in fact. So we found the jack and started to try and remove the lugnuts.

Who would have thought that I�m not that strong?. Neither was JD, the Musician (my floormate). This kind man walked by and decided to try and help us.

Emphasis: try.

Apparently, one of my lugnuts is a strange size and could not be pried off. So, the kind man put all the lugnuts back on and told us to call a tow truck.

I�m not paying $50 to have my car towed to Discount Tire which is only a quarter mile away. Another patron saw us and told us to try Fix-A-Flat which would inflate the tire and seal it somewhat. So, JD and I walked across the street to Meijer and found an employee who actually knew what he was talking about.

�You�ll want to put the whole can in the tire and take it to Discount Tire right away,� he said.

�Well, Discount Tire is closed. I�ll probably get towed for illegal parking.�

�Well, then I�d buy two cans, fill it up now, fill it up when you take it in tomorrow and hope for the best.�

Oh great.

So, JD and I bought the can and walked back, deciding in a moment of weakness to buy a pack of smokes so that we could smoke away the frustration of the past day. We walked back and surprisingly, the tire inflating process worked well.

We made it back (as you can read) and now I have to do my homework on an assignment that I don�t even know what it is.

Great.

Got a comment about this entry?
people have come to see the show!
FastCounter by bCentral